Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking go to charity).

DESCRIPTION: The negative impact of red meat on our cholesterol profile may be similar to that of white meat.

Thought chicken was a low fat food? It used to be, but not any more. See: Does Eating Obesity Cause Obesity? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-eating-obesity-cause-obesity/) It may be one of the reasons we may be getting fatter as well: Chicken Big: Poultry and Obesity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Chicken-Big-Poultry-and-Obesity).

Isn’t protein just protein? How does our body know if it’s coming from a plant or an animal? How could it have different effects on cardiovascular risk? See Protein and Heart Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/protein-and-heart-disease/), another reason why Plant Protein [is] Preferable (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-protein-preferable/).

I used that same Coke/Pepsi comparison in my analysis of another body of Beef-funded research: BOLD Indeed: Beef Lowers Cholesterol? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bold-indeed-beef-lowers-cholesterol/)

More on the role of oxidized cholesterol in Does Cholesterol Size Matter? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-cholesterol-size-matter/) and Arterial Acne (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/arterial-acne/).

Lowering cholesterol is as simple as reducing ones intake of three things; and the lower, perhaps, the better: Trans Fat, Saturated Fat, and Cholesterol: Tolerable Upper Intake of Zero (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/trans-fat-saturated-fat-and-cholesterol-tolerable-upper-intake-of-zero/).

What about those news stories on the vindication of saturated fat? See the sneaky science in The Saturated Fat Studies: Buttering Up the Public (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-saturated-fat-studies-buttering-up-the-public/) and The Saturated Fat Studies: Set Up to Fail (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-saturated-fat-studies-set-up-to-fail/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/switching-from-beef-to-chicken-fish-may-not-lower-cholesterol and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Reblogged 7 months ago from www.youtube.com

8 COMMENTS

  1. Hi there, have you considered Hybetez Remedy
    yet? Simply do a google search. On there you will find an awesome
    guidelines about how you can cures your cholesterol safely. Why not give
    it a chance? maybe it is going to work for you too.

  2. Awesome video…maybe people would believe me when I say plant-based vegan is the best way to live if they watched this video!

  3. My LDL dropped some 90 pts and my Triglycerides dropped three fold and right into normal levels the first two months  after adopting a vegan diet ,back in 2011.The problem was that, in the following year ,I developed  grain intolerance and severe autoimmune reactions to any grains ,even rice and my Tris went through the roof ,so i had no choice but to give up veganism.

  4. OMG!  Every Paleo dummy that screams, "Animal fat and protein aren't the problem!" in the comments beneath vegan YT postings needs to be automatically redirected to this video to see the summaries of these plant-based diet plus beef tallow studies!   Thanks so much for posting, Doc : )

LEAVE A REPLY